Skip to Content

Reiki Principles: 5 Inspirations for Life

Ready to get inspired about life, whether or not you’re into Reiki energy work and chakra balancing? Get excited to learn about the 5 Reiki Principles!

First, some background: Reiki is a Japanese form of relaxation in which gentle hand placements help the receiver into an assisted meditative state, in which the body and mind can better process what they need to process. My name is Lillie, and I have been a trained Reiki Practitioner in Boston since 2018.

Reiki (how to pronounce Reiki is: “RAY-key”) is guided by five beautiful “Reiki Principles” that help focus intentions and energy. So what are these principles? Let’s explore each one.

Reiki principles
Reiki Principles, illustrated by my handwriting!

“Just for Today…”

All five Reiki Principles begin with the phrase, “Just for today…” This is a wonderful framework, because it helps the mind focus on a manageable and realistic time frame that doesn’t seem too daunting. When people ask, “Is Reiki real?” I respond that the gentle principles of Reiki can benefit our daily lives — in and out of the energy work studio — without a doubt.

Now, before we get into the 5 Reiki Principles, a note on the wording and order. Because the study of Reiki has been passed on through the years, it has shifted and changed. This means that sometimes you’ll see different words used — though the gist of each principle remains the same — and sometimes they five principles will appear in different orders. I will present them here as I learned them in my trainings.

Reiki Principles

1. I will not anger.

Too much of our lives can be wasted by needless anger! It’s unhealthy and more often than not, it’s unproductive. This first Reiki Principle, “Just for today, I will not anger,” reminds us to just let go of fury and find the love and joy instead. When clients experience shaking during Reiki, sometimes that is a result of finally releasing that anger that has been held for so long.

2. I will not worry.

This second Reiki Principle is connected to the first, because behind so much anger is actually worry and fear. This principle guides us to take a deep breath and trust the universe — to let go of those thoughts keeping us up at night, causing us to be tired but can’t sleep. As long as we are doing our best, it does not help to worry… so we can release that fear.

3. I will be grateful.

Research has scientifically shown that taking even a brief minute of gratitude each day can make us happier and healthier. Remembering to give thanks for what we have is so powerful! My journey to stop drinking alcohol certainly helped get into deeper touch with gratitude for everyday things.

4. I will do my work honestly.

Though it’s tempting to strive for perfection, all that’s needed is for us to honestly do our best. This is why I give clients a Reiki intake form before each session: So I can make sure to put everything in place for them to have a wonderful experience.

5. I will be kind to all living things.

The final Reiki Principle guides us to be kind to all living creatures. This is such a helpful touchstone to return to, whenever we feel lost or confused. As long as we are kind to others, we are making a positive difference. This kindness helps clients feel more comfortable in making requests that will help improve their experience.

The Beautiful Reiki Principles

I hope you have enjoyed this article on the fabulous 5 Reiki Principles. Which of these inspiring ideas most resonates, and which do you find most difficult? What strategies help you achieve them… just for today, every day? Do share!

If you’d like to read a version of this article with my Spanish translation, click for “Principios de Reiki.”

SUBSCRIBE to Reiki Colors!